How accurate are Indiana price ranges?
Every Indiana figure labelled "Price range" on Groundwork passed a test on later sales (a sealed test, or a development backtest where the table says so) before it was shown: we priced real sales using only data from before each sale, then compared. Figures labelled "Rough estimate" did not reach that standard; their measured miss is listed too. Where a county's test failed outright, its parcels show no figure.
Tested price ranges
Half within: half of the test sales came within this much of the middle of our range (the median miss). No middle shown: the range has no middle figure, so it was tested only on how often later sales fell inside it. Inside the range: the share of scored test sales that fell inside the printed range. A range whose final check is not passed by its due date is withdrawn (the parcel then shows facts only).
| County | Priced | Test | Test sales from | Test sales | Half within | Inside the range | Parcels with this range | Final check |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Marion County | homes | Model test (state-avm-1) | Apr–Sep 2026 | 5,927 | ±12% | 82% | 262,211 | Due Apr 30, 2027 |
| Lake County | single-family homes | Sealed home-value test (in-homevalue-1) | Jun 2023–Jun 2024 | 4,461 | ±10% | 84% | 122,956 | Due Oct 31, 2027 |
| Hamilton County | homes | Model test (state-avm-1) | Apr–Sep 2026 | 1,921 | ±6% | 80% | 110,183 | Due Apr 30, 2027 |
| Allen County | single-family homes | Sealed home-value test (in-homevalue-1) | Jun 2024–Jun 2025 | 4,351 | ±7% | 79% | 95,366 | Due Oct 31, 2027 |
| Vanderburgh County | homes | Model test (state-avm-1) | Apr–Sep 2026 | 781 | ±11% | 81% | 56,366 | Due Apr 30, 2027 |
| Elkhart County | single-family homes | Sealed home-value test (in-homevalue-1) | Jun 2023–Jun 2024 | 1,768 | ±9% | 85% | 41,079 | Due Oct 31, 2027 |
| Hendricks County | single-family homes | Sealed home-value test (in-homevalue-1) | Jun 2023–Jun 2024 | 1,278 | ±6% | 87% | 39,866 | Due Oct 31, 2027 |
| Johnson County | single-family homes | Sealed home-value test (in-homevalue-1) | Jun 2023–Jun 2024 | 1,237 | ±7% | 78% | 38,316 | Due Oct 31, 2027 |
| Hancock County | homes | Model test (state-avm-1) | Apr–Sep 2026 | 414 | ±8% | 86% | 29,011 | Due Apr 30, 2027 |
| Clark County | single-family homes | Sealed home-value test (in-homevalue-1) | Jun 2024–Jun 2025 | 1,449 | ±8% | 84% | 28,772 | Due Oct 31, 2027 |
| LaPorte County | single-family homes | Sealed home-value test (in-homevalue-1) | Jun 2023–Jun 2024 | 624 | ±13% | 84% | 27,296 | Due Oct 31, 2027 |
| Delaware County | single-family homes | Sealed home-value test (in-homevalue-1) | Jun 2024–Jun 2025 | 856 | ±11% | 80% | 26,681 | Due Oct 31, 2027 |
| Allen County | homes | Model test (state-avm-1) | Apr–Sep 2026 | 1,468 | ±8% | 80% | 25,151 | Due Apr 30, 2027 |
| Lake County | single-family homes (dearest tenth) | Sealed home-value test (in-homevalue-1) | Jun 2023–Jun 2024 | 483 of the 4,461 | ±8% | 80% | 22,846 | Due Oct 31, 2027 |
| Monroe County | single-family homes | Sealed home-value test (in-homevalue-1) | Jun 2023–Jun 2024 | 1,073 | ±9% | 84% | 22,614 | Due Oct 31, 2027 |
| Howard County | single-family homes | Sealed home-value test (in-homevalue-1) | Jun 2024–Jun 2025 | 1,169 | ±11% | 82% | 21,758 | Due Oct 31, 2027 |
| Wayne County | homes | Model test (state-avm-1) | Apr–Sep 2026 | 71 | ±8% | 82% | 20,335 | Due Apr 30, 2027 |
| Bartholomew County | single-family homes | Sealed home-value test (in-homevalue-1) | Jun 2023–Jun 2024 | 769 | ±8% | 83% | 19,844 | Due Oct 31, 2027 |
| Floyd County | single-family homes | Sealed home-value test (in-homevalue-1) | Jun 2022–Jun 2023 | 621 | ±10% | 85% | 19,354 | Due Oct 31, 2027 |
| Kosciusko County | single-family homes | Sealed home-value test (in-homevalue-1) | Jun 2024–Jun 2025 | 953 | ±10% | 84% | 19,055 | Due Oct 31, 2027 |
| Boone County | single-family homes | Sealed home-value test (in-homevalue-1) | Jun 2024–Jun 2025 | 963 | ±8% | 80% | 18,846 | Due Oct 31, 2027 |
| Morgan County | single-family homes | Sealed home-value test (in-homevalue-1) | Jul 2024–Jul 2025 | 685 | ±9% | 79% | 17,137 | Due Oct 31, 2027 |
| Warrick County | single-family homes | Sealed home-value test (in-homevalue-1) | Jun 2024–Jun 2025 | 790 | ±8% | 83% | 16,341 | Due Oct 31, 2027 |
| Grant County | single-family homes | Sealed home-value test (in-homevalue-1) | Jun 2024–Jun 2025 | 447 | ±10% | 78% | 15,187 | Due Oct 31, 2027 |
| Hendricks County | single-family homes (dearest tenth) | Sealed home-value test (in-homevalue-1) | Jun 2023–Jun 2024 | 169 of the 1,278 | ±7% | 82% | 11,901 | Due Oct 31, 2027 |
| Montgomery County | homes | Model test (state-avm-1) | Apr–Sep 2026 | 46 | ±10% | 83% | 11,742 | Due Apr 30, 2027 |
| Knox County | homes | Model test (state-avm-1) | Apr–Sep 2026 | 124 | ±19% | 81% | 11,410 | Due Apr 30, 2027 |
| Cass County | homes | Model test (state-avm-1) | Apr–Sep 2026 | 123 | ±18% | 76% | 11,315 | Due Apr 30, 2027 |
| Lawrence County | single-family homes | Sealed home-value test (in-homevalue-1) | Jun 2023–Jun 2024 | 300 | ±11% | 83% | 10,956 | Due Oct 31, 2027 |
| Dubois County | single-family homes | Sealed home-value test (in-homevalue-1) | Jun 2024–Jun 2025 | 313 | ±9% | 79% | 10,269 | Due Oct 31, 2027 |
| Marshall County | single-family homes | Sealed home-value test (in-homevalue-1) | Jun 2023–Jun 2024 | 451 | ±13% | 82% | 10,073 | Due Oct 31, 2027 |
| Noble County | single-family homes | Sealed home-value test (in-homevalue-1) | Jun 2024–Jun 2025 | 316 | ±8% | 84% | 9,915 | Due Oct 31, 2027 |
| Wabash County | homes | Model test (state-avm-1) | Apr–Sep 2026 | 147 | ±12% | 79% | 9,767 | Due Apr 30, 2027 |
| Jasper County | homes | Model test (state-avm-1) | Apr–Sep 2026 | 160 | ±8% | 79% | 9,668 | Due Apr 30, 2027 |
| DeKalb County | single-family homes | Sealed home-value test (in-homevalue-1) | Jun 2023–Jun 2024 | 321 | ±8% | 86% | 9,441 | Due Oct 31, 2027 |
| Huntington County | single-family homes | Sealed home-value test (in-homevalue-1) | Jun 2023–Jun 2024 | 315 | ±11% | 80% | 9,397 | Due Oct 31, 2027 |
| Elkhart County | single-family homes (dearest tenth) | Sealed home-value test (in-homevalue-1) | Jun 2023–Jun 2024 | 212 of the 1,768 | ±8% | 86% | 9,092 | Due Oct 31, 2027 |
| Putnam County | homes | Model test (state-avm-1) | Apr–Sep 2026 | 179 | ±14% | 81% | 9,032 | Due Apr 30, 2027 |
| Clark County | homes | Model test (state-avm-1) | Apr–Sep 2026 | 739 | ±8% | 80% | 8,970 | Due Apr 30, 2027 |
| Jackson County | single-family homes | Sealed home-value test (in-homevalue-1) | Jun 2024–Jun 2025 | 330 | ±10% | 80% | 8,618 | Due Oct 31, 2027 |
| Starke County | homes | Model test (state-avm-1) | Apr–Sep 2026 | 53 | ±11% | 83% | 7,880 | Due Apr 30, 2027 |
| Harrison County | single-family homes | Sealed home-value test (in-homevalue-1) | Jun 2024–Jun 2025 | 276 | ±10% | 79% | 7,771 | Due Oct 31, 2027 |
| White County | single-family homes | Sealed home-value test (in-homevalue-1) | Jun 2024–Jun 2025 | 254 | ±10% | 83% | 7,553 | Due Oct 31, 2027 |
| Whitley County | single-family homes | Sealed home-value test (in-homevalue-1) | Jun 2024–Jun 2025 | 347 | ±8% | 77% | 7,365 | Due Oct 31, 2027 |
| LaPorte County | homes | Model test (state-avm-1) | Apr–Sep 2026 | 265 | ±15% | 77% | 7,211 | Due Apr 30, 2027 |
| Ripley County | homes | Model test (state-avm-1) | Apr–Sep 2026 | 105 | ±14% | 74% | 7,115 | Due Apr 30, 2027 |
| Clinton County | single-family homes | Sealed home-value test (in-homevalue-1) | Jun 2024–Jun 2025 | 177 | ±13% | 75% | 7,069 | Due Oct 31, 2027 |
| Wells County | single-family homes | Sealed home-value test (in-homevalue-1) | Jun 2024–Jun 2025 | 278 | ±8% | 81% | 6,296 | Due Oct 31, 2027 |
| Kosciusko County | homes | Model test (state-avm-1) | Apr–Sep 2026 | 155 | ±10% | 80% | 6,235 | Due Apr 30, 2027 |
| Delaware County | single-family homes (dearest tenth) | Sealed home-value test (in-homevalue-1) | Jun 2024–Jun 2025 | 164 of the 856 | ±6% | 84% | 6,228 | Due Oct 31, 2027 |
| Washington County | homes | Model test (state-avm-1) | Apr–Sep 2026 | 57 | ±10% | 86% | 6,208 | Due Apr 30, 2027 |
| Fulton County | homes | Model test (state-avm-1) | Apr–Sep 2026 | 96 | ±17% | 88% | 6,129 | Due Apr 30, 2027 |
| LaGrange County | single-family homes | Sealed home-value test (in-homevalue-1) | Jun 2024–Jun 2025 | 185 | ±13% | 86% | 6,122 | Due Oct 31, 2027 |
| Howard County | single-family homes (dearest tenth) | Sealed home-value test (in-homevalue-1) | Jun 2024–Jun 2025 | 182 of the 1,169 | ±7% | 86% | 5,952 | Due Oct 31, 2027 |
| Decatur County | single-family homes | Sealed home-value test (in-homevalue-1) | May 2023–May 2024 | 275 | ±12% | 78% | 5,526 | Due Oct 31, 2027 |
| Franklin County | homes | Model test (state-avm-1) | Apr–Sep 2026 | 31 | ±10% | 84% | 5,331 | Due Apr 30, 2027 |
| Grant County | homes | Model test (state-avm-1) | Apr–Sep 2026 | 186 | ±12% | 80% | 4,949 | Due Apr 30, 2027 |
| Brown County | single-family homes | Sealed home-value test (in-homevalue-1) | Jun 2024–Jun 2025 | 154 | ±11% | 79% | 4,821 | Due Oct 31, 2027 |
| Monroe County | single-family homes (dearest tenth) | Sealed home-value test (in-homevalue-1) | Jun 2023–Jun 2024 | 158 of the 1,073 | ±9% | 85% | 4,358 | Due Oct 31, 2027 |
| Floyd County | single-family homes (dearest tenth) | Sealed home-value test (in-homevalue-1) | Jun 2022–Jun 2023 | 109 of the 621 | ±7% | 84% | 4,357 | Due Oct 31, 2027 |
| Boone County | single-family homes (dearest tenth) | Sealed home-value test (in-homevalue-1) | Jun 2024–Jun 2025 | 134 of the 963 | ±8% | 85% | 4,264 | Due Oct 31, 2027 |
| Pulaski County | homes | Model test (state-avm-1) | Apr–Sep 2026 | 30 | ±14% | 80% | 4,131 | Due Apr 30, 2027 |
| Monroe County | condominiums | Sealed home-value test (in-homevalue-1) | Jun 2023–Jun 2024 | 326 | ±7% | 80% | 4,120 | Due Oct 31, 2027 |
| Owen County | single-family homes | Sealed home-value test (in-homevalue-1) | Jun 2023–Jun 2024 | 127 | ±11% | 87% | 3,793 | Due Oct 31, 2027 |
| Hendricks County | homes | Model test (state-avm-1) | Apr–Sep 2026 | 338 | ±7% | 86% | 3,791 | Due Apr 30, 2027 |
| Warrick County | single-family homes (dearest tenth) | Sealed home-value test (in-homevalue-1) | Jun 2024–Jun 2025 | 106 of the 790 | ±9% | 79% | 3,305 | Due Oct 31, 2027 |
| Whitley County | homes | Model test (state-avm-1) | Apr–Sep 2026 | 172 | ±11% | 74% | 3,037 | Due Apr 30, 2027 |
| Huntington County | homes | Model test (state-avm-1) | Apr–Sep 2026 | 180 | ±13% | 78% | 3,002 | Due Apr 30, 2027 |
| Noble County | homes | Model test (state-avm-1) | Apr–Sep 2026 | 230 | ±11% | 83% | 2,803 | Due Apr 30, 2027 |
| Jackson County | homes | Model test (state-avm-1) | Apr–Sep 2026 | 181 | ±9% | 81% | 2,607 | Due Apr 30, 2027 |
| Dearborn County | vacant land assessed over $5,000 (range from the county's assessment) | Development backtest (in-avx-1.3) | Sep 2022–Jun 2025 | 41 | No middle shown | 80% | 2,598 | Due Jun 30, 2027 |
| LaGrange County | homes | Model test (state-avm-1) | Apr–Sep 2026 | 79 | ±15% | 82% | 2,550 | Due Apr 30, 2027 |
| Decatur County | homes | Model test (state-avm-1) | Apr–Sep 2026 | 75 | ±8% | 84% | 2,243 | Due Apr 30, 2027 |
| Benton County | single-family homes | Sealed home-value test (in-homevalue-1) | Sep 2024–Sep 2025 | 123 | ±14% | 83% | 2,021 | Due Oct 31, 2027 |
| Monroe County | homes | Model test (state-avm-1) | Apr–Sep 2026 | 509 | ±7% | 80% | 1,974 | Due Apr 30, 2027 |
| Wells County | homes | Model test (state-avm-1) | Apr–Sep 2026 | 33 | ±7% | 85% | 1,858 | Due Apr 30, 2027 |
| Brown County | homes | Model test (state-avm-1) | Apr–Sep 2026 | 113 | ±12% | 80% | 1,554 | Due Apr 30, 2027 |
| Boone County | homes | Model test (state-avm-1) | Apr–Sep 2026 | 562 | ±9% | 76% | 1,398 | Due Apr 30, 2027 |
| Warrick County | homes | Model test (state-avm-1) | Apr–Sep 2026 | 69 | ±9% | 78% | 1,348 | Due Apr 30, 2027 |
| Howard County | homes | Model test (state-avm-1) | Apr–Sep 2026 | 517 | ±12% | 80% | 1,152 | Due Apr 30, 2027 |
| Porter County | vacant land assessed at $5,000 or less (range from recent lot sales of this size) | Development backtest (in-avx-1.3) | Jan 2022–Jun 2024 | 41 | No middle shown | 83% | 894 | Due Jun 30, 2027 |
| Boone County | vacant land assessed at $5,000 or less | Development backtest (in-avx-1.3) | Jan 2022–Apr 2025 | 50 | No middle shown | 78% | 290 | Due Jun 30, 2027 |
| Vigo County | homes | Model test (state-avm-1) | Apr–Sep 2026 | 87 | ±15% | 82% | 7 | Due Apr 30, 2027 |
Rough estimates
Where a county's own sales were too few for a sealed test, or its test missed our standard but stayed usable, the card says "Rough estimate" and gives the miss measured where it was measured: in the county, or across the state's pooled sales. Each label says what it was tested on and how close its estimates came.
| Miss measured | Half within | Covers | Parcels |
|---|---|---|---|
| Not stated | ±20% | Land and building | 290,375 |
| Not stated | ±15% | Land and building | 185,619 |
| Statewide | ±45% | Land only | 164,496 |
| Across nearby counties | ±20% | Land and building | 76,590 |
| Not stated | ±25% | Land and building | 47,350 |
| Across nearby counties | ±15% | Land and building | 46,388 |
| Porter County | ±8% | Land and building | 43,965 |
| Tippecanoe County | ±10% | Land and building | 35,590 |
| Not stated | ±30% | Land only | 30,228 |
| Across nearby counties | ±30% | Land and building | 25,433 |
| Not stated | ±40% | Land and building | 24,744 |
| Vigo County | ±15% | Land and building | 23,149 |
| Not stated | ±40% | Land only | 22,206 |
| Across nearby counties | ±25% | Land and building | 21,225 |
| Across nearby counties | ±45% | Land only | 21,188 |
| Across nearby counties | ±30% | Land only | 21,028 |
| Not stated | ±35% | Land and building | 19,891 |
| Not stated | ±30% | Land and building | 19,644 |
| Not stated | ±25% | Land only | 17,411 |
| Not stated | ±65% | Land only | 16,445 |
| Marion County | ±9% | Land and building | 16,371 |
| Statewide | ±20% | Land and building | 16,183 |
| Steuben County | ±11% | Land and building | 13,629 |
| Across nearby counties | ±40% | Land only | 13,093 |
| Across nearby counties | ±60% | Land only | 12,470 |
| Across nearby counties | ±55% | Land only | 12,118 |
| Henry County | ±19% | Land and building | 11,335 |
| Not stated | ±35% | Land only | 10,981 |
| Gibson County | ±14% | Land and building | 10,368 |
| Dearborn County | ±11% | Land and building | 9,833 |
| Miami County | ±19% | Land and building | 9,716 |
| Greene County | ±14% | Land and building | 9,446 |
| Not stated | ±20% | Land only | 9,204 |
| Johnson County | ±7% | Land and building | 8,944 |
| Tippecanoe County | ±8% | Land and building | 8,664 |
| Jefferson County | ±11% | Land and building | 8,613 |
| Porter County | ±9% | Land and building | 8,487 |
| Not stated | ±45% | Land only | 8,447 |
| Adams County | ±11% | Land and building | 8,338 |
| Fayette County | ±15% | Land and building | 7,620 |
| Posey County | ±15% | Land and building | 7,291 |
| Clay County | ±17% | Land and building | 7,138 |
| Carroll County | ±13% | Land and building | 6,459 |
| Scott County | ±12% | Land and building | 6,386 |
| Not stated | ±50% | Land only | 6,278 |
| Across nearby counties | ±20% | Land only | 5,957 |
| Morgan County | ±7% | Land and building | 5,110 |
| Perry County | ±16% | Land and building | 5,085 |
| Fountain County | ±17% | Land and building | 5,067 |
| Lake County | ±15% | Land and building | 5,030 |
| Vigo County | ±10% | Land and building | 4,927 |
| Lake County | ±8% | Land and building | 4,634 |
| Tipton County | ±14% | Land and building | 4,633 |
| Orange County | ±14% | Land and building | 4,608 |
| Newton County | ±9% | Land and building | 4,489 |
| Dearborn County | ±9% | Land and building | 3,846 |
| Not stated | ±10% | Land and building | 3,745 |
| Bartholomew County | ±9% | Land and building | 3,658 |
| Not stated | ±60% | Land only | 3,522 |
| Not stated | ±10% | Land only | 3,219 |
| Kosciusko County | ±12% | Land and building | 2,925 |
| White County | ±10% | Land and building | 2,804 |
| Elkhart County | ±16% | Land and building | 2,799 |
| Lawrence County | ±11% | Land and building | 2,612 |
| Marshall County | ±10% | Land and building | 2,611 |
| Clinton County | ±13% | Land and building | 2,473 |
| Henry County | ±10% | Land and building | 2,446 |
| Across nearby counties | ±50% | Land only | 2,244 |
| Marion County | ±10% | Land and building | 2,191 |
| Porter County | ±10% | Land and building | 2,188 |
| Hendricks County | ±7% | Land and building | 1,990 |
| Not stated | ±45% | Land and building | 1,915 |
| Floyd County | ±10% | Land and building | 1,885 |
| Not stated | ±1135% | Land only | 1,803 |
| Not stated | ±15% | Land only | 1,795 |
| Delaware County | ±11% | Land and building | 1,690 |
| Hamilton County | ±7% | Land and building | 1,557 |
| Allen County | ±10% | Land and building | 1,508 |
| Johnson County | ±8% | Land and building | 1,478 |
| Delaware County | ±14% | Land and building | 1,408 |
| Across nearby counties | ±35% | Land and building | 1,284 |
| Owen County | ±11% | Land and building | 1,152 |
| Clark County | ±7% | Land and building | 1,112 |
| LaPorte County | ±11% | Land and building | 1,078 |
| Delaware County | ±6% | Land and building | 1,049 |
| Monroe County | ±7% | Land and building | 1,048 |
| Benton County | ±14% | Land and building | 867 |
| Boone County | ±8% | Land and building | 780 |
| Not stated | ±55% | Land and building | 730 |
| Dubois County | ±9% | Land and building | 662 |
| Bartholomew County | ±8% | Land and building | 521 |
| Harrison County | ±10% | Land and building | 515 |
| DeKalb County | ±8% | Land and building | 473 |
| Marion County | ±11% | Land and building | 463 |
| Morgan County | ±9% | Land and building | 414 |
| Noble County | ±8% | Land and building | 374 |
| Jasper County | ±11% | Land and building | 368 |
| Allen County | ±8% | Land and building | 360 |
| Brown County | ±11% | Land and building | 285 |
| Huntington County | ±11% | Land and building | 277 |
| Knox County | ±18% | Land and building | 239 |
| Starke County | ±13% | Land and building | 237 |
| Marshall County | ±13% | Land and building | 210 |
| Kosciusko County | ±10% | Land and building | 209 |
| Wabash County | ±15% | Land and building | 199 |
| Grant County | ±8% | Land and building | 178 |
| Hamilton County | ±8% | Land and building | 176 |
| Fulton County | ±16% | Land and building | 158 |
| Whitley County | ±8% | Land and building | 148 |
| Wells County | ±8% | Land and building | 140 |
| Hancock County | ±8% | Land and building | 111 |
| Montgomery County | ±8% | Land and building | 111 |
| Pulaski County | ±12% | Land and building | 108 |
| Wayne County | ±9% | Land and building | 89 |
| Clark County | ±8% | Land and building | 82 |
| Decatur County | ±12% | Land and building | 74 |
| Clark County | ±6% | Land and building | 65 |
| LaGrange County | ±13% | Land and building | 56 |
| Franklin County | ±10% | Land and building | 55 |
| Hancock County | ±7% | Land and building | 46 |
| Putnam County | ±15% | Land and building | 37 |
| Washington County | ±11% | Land and building | 33 |
| Cass County | ±16% | Land and building | 33 |
| Warrick County | ±8% | Land and building | 25 |
| Grant County | ±10% | Land and building | 15 |
| Hendricks County | ±6% | Land and building | 12 |
| Hamilton County | ±17% | Land and building | 8 |
| Jackson County | ±7% | Land and building | 6 |
| Jackson County | ±10% | Land and building | 6 |
| Howard County | ±11% | Land and building | 2 |
What did not pass
The home-value test (in-homevalue-1) checked 303 county and home-type groups on 55,354 sealed sales: 43 passed for a price range (35 of those are shown on the map), 44 passed only as a rough estimate, and 216 passed neither, so they show no tested home value from it.
Land ranges (in-avx-1.3, a development backtest on past sales): 83 county land groups had test sales; 9 passed for a range (3 of those are shown on the map). The rest show no tested range from it.
In Boone County, 377 parcels of vacant land assessed at $5,000 or less got no range: theirs would have been too wide to be useful.
The model test (state-avm-1, run Oct 17, 2026) checked 154 county and property-type groups on 20,022 sales; 37 passed (36 of those are shown on the map). The rest show no range from it.
Sources and dates
Test sales: recorded Indiana sales on file for each county. Test figures: our out-of-time test reports and, where run, sealed final checks (in-homevalue-1, state-avm-1, in-avx-1.3). Parcel counts: our Indiana map on Oct 24, 2026. Estimates are for your own analysis, not an appraisal or a broker price opinion.